The Atlantic Excellence in Mentoring Award

The Atlantic Excellence in Mentoring Award

The Atlantic Excellence in Mentoring Award honours advocates who have shown outstanding commitment to and excellence in mentoring other advocates in Atlantic Canada.


Nominations are now open for The Atlantic Excellence in Mentoring Award. Nominate a deserving advocate by July 8, 2024. The award will be presented at The Advocates' Society Signature fall program in 2024.

Nomination Form

Selection Criteria:

The recipient must be a lawyer in good standing with one of the law societies in Atlantic Canada and must practice primarily in at least one of the Atlantic Provinces. The Selection Committee will consider the extent to which the nominee meets the following criteria when determining the recipient:
  • Demonstrates generosity of time and expertise, with a commitment to mentoring and supporting more junior advocates;
  • Promotes mentees’ career development and leadership skills;
  • Supports and sponsors mentees to provide career development and leadership opportunities;
  • Promotes diversity and inclusion in the profession through mentorship and sponsorship;
  • Shows commitment to mentoring and educational programs within the profession; and
  • Demonstrates a high degree of integrity and professionalism as a role model for young advocates.
Past Recipients:

2020 - Michelle M. Kelly
2021 - David M. Lutz, Q.C.
2022 - Raymond F. Wagner, K.C.