The Eric Hoaken Excellence in Mentoring Award

The Eric Hoaken Excellence in Mentoring Award

The Eric Hoaken Excellence in Mentoring Award honours advocates who have shown outstanding commitment to and excellence in mentoring other advocates. The purpose of the award is to promote excellence in mentoring.
Congratulations to Frank E. Walwyn, LSM, WeirFoulds LLP Winner Banner

Congratulations to Frank E. Walwyn, LSM, WeirFoulds LLP, 2022 recipient of The Eric Hoaken Excellence in Mentoring Award. This award will be presented at The Advocates’ Society End of Term Dinner on June 23 at Fairmont Royal York.
Selection Criteria:

The recipients are selected based on the following criteria:
  • Dedication to mentoring other advocates;
  • Generosity of time and expertise, with a commitment to assisting more junior advocates;
  • Commitment to The Advocates’ Society’s mentoring and educational programs; and,
  • Professionalism in all aspects of his or her participation in the work of the Society, including mentoring and education programs.
The recipient must be a lawyer in good standing with the Law Society of Ontario and a member of The Advocates’ Society.

About the Award:

The late Eric Hoaken exemplified excellence in mentoring.

Eric, called to the Ontario Bar in 1994, was a committed member of The Advocates’ Society for nearly two decades, including serving as a Director on the Board of the Society.  A gifted counsel, Eric was an exceptional teacher and mentor to many, and supported countless associates at the firms at which he practiced and beyond, helping them develop professional development plans to build their expertise and profiles in the legal community.  He was unfailingly generous with his time and expertise, and always empathetic and kind in listening to and guiding his mentees.  Eric maintained his good nature and great sense of humour throughout.

Eric also chaired of dozens of TAS programs, including the Court House Series, Spring Symposium and Fall Convention. His passion for advocacy and for people touched and benefited hundreds of Society members and many other members of our profession.

The Award will be presented biennially with the first award to be presented in 2020.
Past Recipients:

Rajan K. Agarwal – 2020