The Advocates' Society Medal

The Advocates' Society Medal

The Advocates' Society Medal is the highest expression of esteem which the Society can convey to one of its members.
Selection Criteria:

The Advocates' Society Medal is intended to honour those members of The Advocates' Society ("TAS"), who:
  1. have clearly demonstrated their pre-eminence as counsel and are unequivocally acknowledged as leaders of the bar;
  2. have been dedicated and active members of TAS; and
  3. have made a significant contribution to the profession of law and to the well-being of the community at large.
Members of The Advocates' Society are invited to submit nominations for the Medal. In addition to being nominated by others, candidates can nominate themselves.

Nomination Form

Nomination Deadline: Monday, October 16, 2023

To submit your nomination please complete the online nomination form and attach the nominee's C.V. and up to two (2) letters of support (each of which can be a maximum of 500 words in length).

Past Recipients
1974 - Joseph Sedgwick, Q.C.
1975 - Arthur E. Maloney, Q.C.
1976 - John J. Robinette, Q.C.
1977 - Isadore Levinter, Q.C.
1980 - Walter B. Williston, Q.C.
1983 - Brendan O'Brien, Q.C.
1985 - Douglas K. Laidlaw, Q.C., posthumously
1987 - The Honourable John D. Arnup, Q.C.
1988 - The Honourable G. Arthur Martin, Q.C.
1990 - Charles F. McKeon, Q.C.
1995 - John P. Nelligan, Q.C.
1996 - Earl A. Cherniak, Q.C.
1999 - David W. Scott, Q.C.
1999 - Kenneth E. Howie, Q.C.
2003 - C. Scott Ritchie, Q.C.
2003 - The Honourable Justice Eleanore A. Cronk
2006 - Austin M. Cooper, Q.C.
2008 - Sheila R. Block
2008 - Kristopher H. Knutsen, Q.C.
2009 - Edward L. Greenspan, Q.C.
2010 - Ronald G. Slaght, Q.C.
2011 - The Honourable W. Ian C. Binnie
2012 - Marlys Edwardh, C.M., LSM
2013 - The Honourable Associate Chief Justice Dennis O'Connor
2014 - Philippa G. Samworth
2016 - James C. Simmons, Q.C.
2017 - Stephen Grant, LSM
2019 - Bryan Finlay, Q.C.
2021 - Linda R. Rothstein, LSM