Rewarding Excellence in Advocacy


Members of The Advocates’ Society are, and always have been, leaders in their profession – both inside and outside the courtroom. Our awards recognize the very best.

TAS Medal Icon      

The Advocates’ Society Medal
Established over forty years ago, The Advocates’ Society Medal is the highest expression of esteem the Society can convey to one of its members.


Arleen Goss Award Icon      

The Arleen Goss Young Advocates’ Award
This award is presented to a young advocate under ten years of call,  in recognition of innovative and passionate advocacy and a demonstrated concern for advancement of social justice.


TAS Teaching Award Icon      

The Advocates’ Society Award for Excellence in Teaching
This award is presented to those who have made an outstanding contribution in the classroom and to the profession.


Award of Justice Icon      

The Award of Justice
The Award of Justice honours advocates who exemplify the finest traditions of advocacy while representing the underdogs of society.


Catzman Award Icon        

The Catzman Award for Professionalism & Civility
This annual award recognizes advocates who demonstrate knowledge of the law, integrity, fairness, civility, generosity of time and expertise and dedication to the highest ideals of the profession.


David Stockwood Award Icon        

The David Stockwood Memorial Prize
This biennial award goes to the author of an outstanding advocacy-related article.


Nelligan Award Icon      

The John P. Nelligan Award for Excellence in Advocacy
Formerly known as the Ottawa Honouree Dinner, this award acknowledges an Ottawa region advocate who exemplifies excellence in advocacy.




Laidlaw Medal Icon      

The Douglas K. Laidlaw Medal for Excellence in Advocacy
This medal is awarded to an outstanding advocate in his or her middle years of practice. 

Arleen Goss Award Icon      

The Eric Hoaken Excellence in Mentoring Award
The Eric Hoaken Excellence in Mentoring Award honours advocates who have shown outstanding commitment to and excellence in mentoring other advocates. The purpose of the award is to promote excellence in mentoring.