Mid-Career Advocates' Standing Committee (MASC)

The Mid-Career Advocates' Standing Committee was established as an official Standing Committee in 2018 (under the name of 10+), with a mandate to promote the interests of mid-career advocates within The Advocates' Society. The name of the Committee was officially changed on May 30, 2023. 

Chloe Snider
Chloe Snider
Steven G. Frankel
Steven G. Frankel
Sonu Dhanju-Dhillon
Sonu Dhanju-Dhillon
Melanie Baird
Melanie Baird
Communications Liaison

What is the Mid-Career Advocates' Standing Committee (MASC)?
For the purpose of carrying out its mandate, the definition of midcareer advocates is not rigidly defined, but generally considered to be comprised of advocates who have been in practice for about 10 to 20 years.

MASC fosters networking and engagement among mid-career members to build and engage members during this phase of their careers and seeks to develop opportunities for the participation of mid-career members in the Society. MASC members sit on various TAS Standing Committees.

MASC also promotes access to justice initiatives, pro bono initiatives, leadership, and career and business development programs for mid-career advocates.

MASC Initiatives include:
  • Mid-Career Retreat - coming in February 2024
  • How to Mentor Series
  • Allyship and Cultural Competence 
  • Mid-Career Women’s Social
  • Management for Litigators
  • Mentoring Dinner Series (jointly with YASC)
  • Friends Who Argue Podcast (jointly with YASC)
  • Advocacy Matters newsletter

The Committee is led by an Executive Committee that consists of a Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Communications Liaison. Committee membership reflects the diversity of the Society’s membership, including, without limitation, representation from different practice areas of law and from across Canada.

Committee membership is limited to Society members who are mid-career advocates.

Questions about MASC? Please contact MASC 2023/2024 Chair Steven Frankel at sfrankel@dwpv.com .

Get Involved!
The MASC Standing Committee seeks engaged, hard-working volunteers to promote the interests of mid-career advocates through planning and implementing information and networking events, producing the Advocacy Matters newsletter and participating in the work of The Advocates’ Society.

Call for Applications for the 2024/2025 term. The Society welcomes applications to MASC from Society members who are about 10 to 20 years of call. Successful applicants will serve a two-year term starting June 2024. Parental and medical leaves will be accommodated.

Call for applications will launch by January 31, 2024. 

MASC Members 2022/2023

Melanie Baird, Blakes
Daniel Baum, Langlois Avocats, S.E.N.C.R.L.
Jennifer Brevorka, Henein Hutchison LLP
Lisa Marie Buccella, Aviva Trial Lawyers
Nadia Chiesa, WeirFoulds LLP
Amandeep Dhillon, Kramer Simaan Dhillon LLP
Brian Duong, Hunter Litigation Chambers
Erin Durant, Durant Barristers
Jordan Glick, Glick Law
Chris Horkins, Cassels Brock & Blackwell LLP
Jennifer Hunter, Lerners LLP
Ben Kates, Law Society of Ontario
Megan Keenberg, Keenberg & Company PC
Emily Kettel, Bennett Jones LLP
Ewa Krajewska, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Ayesha Laldin, Department of Justice
Christopher Lee, Loopstra Nixon LLP
Clarence Lui, Reain Lui Stock LLP
Eric Morgan, Kushneryk Morgan LLP
Brendan Morrison, Lenczner Slaght
Omolara Oladipo, Omolara Oladipo Professional Corporation
Zoe Oxaal, Department of Justice, Canada, Civil Litigation Section
Gabriel Poliquin, Gib Van Ert Law
Kim Potter, Fasken
M. Mana Khami
, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Tamara Ramsey
, Dale & Lessman LLP
Natalia Rodriguez, Conway Baxter Wilson LLP
Miranda Spence, Aird & Berlis LLP
Cynthia Spry, Babin Bessner Spry LLP
Nathan Sutherland, Pink Larkin
David Thompson, Carroll Heyd Chown LLP
Joe Thorne, Stewart McKelvey
Lionel Tupman, Tupman & Bloom LLP
Jeff Van Bakel, Scott Petrie LLP Law Firm
Kirsten Van Drunen, Van Drunen Criminal Defence
Christine Vanderschoot, Vanderschoot Family Law
Laura Wagner, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
Andrew Winton
, Lax O'Sullivan Lisus Gottlieb LLP